Coverage includes all Bare Acts from 1850 to today and a comprehensive collection of Rules and Regulations from 1890.

Whether you enter the name of an act or a provision in our Search and Advanced Search fields, or if you are browsing by year or act title, we can help you find the needle in the legislation haystack.

Alongside the Indian legislation, Westlaw India also includes legislation from the UK, EU, United States and other Commonwealth jurisdictions. For more information, please refer to the INTERNATIONAL LAW LIBRARIES page.


  • Full text of all Bare Acts including Amending, Repealed and Repealing Acts
  • Complete amendment history inserted at provision level for every Act
  • Links to cases citing a particular provision
  • Ability to print or save as PDF the complete Act or selected provisions
  • A legal subject classification to improve search across case law and legislative materials
  • Full text of Bills showing status of the Bill in Parliament
  • Full text of Ordinances from 1982 to date


This archive can be browsed by year or via free text searching from our Legislation home page to access full text of all the Rules passed by Central Government Ministries/Departments.


In addition Westlaw India includes over 40,000 Notifications and Circulars covering a wide range of Ministries including:

  • Ministry of Commerce and Industries
  • Ministry of Communication & IT
  • Ministry of Company Affairs
  • Ministry of Finance
  • Ministry of Law & Justice
  • Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pension
  • Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas

As well as the following regulatory bodies:

  • Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI)
  • Reserve Bank of India (RBI)
  • Department of Personnel and Training (DOPT)
  • Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT)
  • Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)


Over 3000 legislation and subordinate legislation of the following states can also be accessed on Westlaw India:

  • Andaman and Nicobar
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Assam
  • Bihar
  • Center
  • Chandigarh
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  • Daman and Diu
  • Delhi
  • Goa
  • Gujarat
  • Haryana
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Jammu and Kashmir
  • Jharkhand
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala
  • Lakshadweep
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Maharashtra
  • Manipur
  • Meghalaya
  • Mizoram
  • Nagaland
  • Orissa
  • Pondicherry
  • Punjab
  • Rajasthan
  • Sikkim
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Tripura
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Uttarakhand
  • West Bengal

Contact for FREE Trial